Back to All Events

Grant Us Peace

  • Fraserview MB Church 11295 Mellis Drive Richmond, BC, V6X 1L8 Canada (map)


If you would like to take advantage of our online prices but would prefer to order over the phone, please call our office at 604-276-2747 and we will facilitate your order.

Door Tickets: 
Adult: $25.00
Senior: $20.00
Student: $20.00  
Child (under 13): $10.00

Online Tickets:
Adult: $20.00
Senior: $16.00
Student: $15.00  
Child (under 13): $8.00


Two works with deep connections to the cessation of war comprise our fall concert.  The Violin Concerto of Erich von Korngold was written following the fall of Nazi Germany. Korngold had been creating film music in Hollywood, and vowed not to write for the classical concert hall until he could do so in freedom. His concerto is full of exuberance, and uses material written for earlier movie scores. 

Between the two world wars, Europe was uneasy. The 1914-1918 war had been labeled as “the war to end all wars” but it was clear that this was not a peace that would last. The English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams turned to the poetry of American writer Walt Whitman in an appeal against the senselessness of war. The Richmond Orchestra and Chorus join to present this anguished and beautiful work, so particularly appropriate around Remembrance Day.

Guest Artists